Listeners Club

Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

Cale's Corner

Two Fighting Illini named to Naismith watch list

Fighting Illini Junior Guard, and Sophomore big man Kofi Cockburn has been named to the Naismith Trophy Watch List. Illinois is one of nine schools, and the only school in the Big Ten conference with two players on the 50 player preseason list for the player of the year watch list. 


The Naismith Trophy has been awarded every year since 1969 to the best collegiate basketball player. Iowa Big Man Luka Garza was last year’s award winner, and he is another favorite to win the award again this season. 


The two Illini standouts have built massive preseason resumes in the highly anticipated season for the #8 Illini this year. Dosunmu has been named a Preseason All-American, Bob Cousy Award watch list, First-Team All America, Unanimous All-Bit Ten, Nations most intriguing player, Nations No.1 guard(CJ More of the Athletic), No. 3 overall players (Matt Norlander, Nations No. 2 Returning Player(Andy Katz,  Cockburn has earned or been named to the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Watch List, All Big-Ten, No 4 big(Brendan Marks, The Athletic, No. 10 returning player(Andy Katz,, No. 17 Overall players (Matt Norlander, 


Last season, Dosunmu averaged 16.6 points and 4.3 boards per game. Dosunmu also earned First-Team Big Ten by the media. Cockburn was the 2020 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, notching 13.3 points, 8.8 boards, and 1.4 blocks. 


The highly anticipated season tips-off for the Illini next Wednesday, every game can be heard right here on WPXN.


Get our App


On Air Now

Joe Bradley
Joe Bradley
11:00am - 2:00pm
Regular Programming

Listen on Alexa


Visitor Polls

How do you consume your sports, or news coverage?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.